On the border of two parts of the world


Sverdlovsk region is located in the center of Russia at the junction of two parts of the world - Europe and Asia. The region is located in the northeast of the Ural Federal District. The administrative center of the Sverdlovsk region is Ekaterinburg.

  • 194 800 km²total area
  • 4,3 million citizens
  • 1416 km from Ekaterinburg to Moscow

Administrative division

Within the municipal structure the region includes 68 urban districts, 5 municipal districts, 16 rural and 5 urban settlements.

Sverdlovsk region borders with Kurgan, Chelyabinsk, Tyumen, with the Republic of Bashkortostan and the Republic of Komi, the Perm Krai and the Khanty-Mansi Autonomous Okrug – Yugra.

The largest cities: Ekaterinburg – 1,4 million people, Nizhny Tagil - 353 thousand people, Kamensk-Uralsky -168 thousand people, Pervouralsk - 123 thousand people.

  • 94 municipalities
  • 1967 settlements
  • 7 neighboring entities


The climate of the region is temperate-continental, bordered by continental. Winter is cold, long, summer is warm, often hot. The warmest month of the year is July, the coldest is January.

Pretty much the weather in the Sverdlovsk region is determined by the transfer of air masses coming from the Atlantic Ocean, as well as the impact of dry air layers that come from the Kazakh steppes. Cold air from the Arctic region also plays an important role.

  • 542  mm average annual rainfall
  • 19,0average July temperature
  • -12.6average February temperature